Buddhism is a religion and a philosophy.
Buddhism is the fourth largest religion in the world, after Christianity, Islam and Hinduism.

The word comes from ‘budhi’, ‘to awaken’.

It has its origins about 2,500 years ago when Siddhartha Gotama (Sanskrit: Siddhartha Gautama), known as the Buddha (also: Tathagata, “the one who has come thus”), was himself awakened (enlightened) at the age of 35 while sitting under a Bodhi tree (“tree of wisdom”).

Buddhist morality is deeply rooted by the principles of harmlessness and moderation (The Middle Way).

The characteristics of Buddhism are:

1) Mental training focuses on moral discipline (sila),

2) Meditative concentration (samadhi), and

3) Wisdom (prajnā).

Discipline (or morality/ethics) is about making a person get rid of all the desires ordinary people have; making him do away with his desire of possession. Also be mindful and aware of thoughts and actions.

So he would free himself of all attachments, and naturally enter into concentration.

Discipline and concentration complement each other. After the person has entered into concentration, he (or she) would need to sit in meditation. He will meditate relying on his power of concentration.

Wisdom refers to Enlightenment, and coming to have great wisdom.

He would see the Truth of the universe and its dimensions.

His great divine powers would be majestically displayed, and his Wisdom and Enlightenment would be unlocked.

Translate »